Environmental League of Massachusetts Action Fund Unveils First Wave of its "Dirty Dozen" Legislators

The Environmental League of Massachusetts Action Fund today unveiled the first six of its “Dirty Dozen” state legislators, publicly highlighting State Representatives from around the Commonwealth with the worst voting records on environmental protection.

“These six lawmakers personify what we guard against as environmentalists,” said George Bachrach, President of the ELM Action Fund. “We have many champions who support our parks, our water, our air and the vast economic and jobs benefits that come from protecting them, but we will call-out and work to replace those who stand in the way of progress.”

The ELM Action Fund is the nonpartisan political arm of the Environmental League of Massachusetts (ELM) and the state affiliate of the national League of Conservation Voters (LCV). The first six lawmakers of the “Dirty Dozen” will be followed by an additional six legislators predicated on upcoming relevant votes. The legislators on this list were determined by their own voting records on key votes in the ELM Legislative Scorecard for last session.

The first six of the Dirty Dozen state legislators (and their scores) are as follows:
Rep. F. Jay Barrows Mansfield (63%)
Rep. Nicholas Boldyga Southwick (63%)
Rep. Geoff Diehl Whitman (63%)
Rep. Marc Lombardo Billerica (63%)
Rep. James Lyons Andover (63%)
Rep. Elizabeth Poirier North Attleboro (63%)

Read the full press release to learn more

Read our Legislative Scorecard